News and Events

November 10, 2018

Sat Nov 10: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Nov 11: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

Monday Nov 12 - There is a vigil service at St. Antonios at 5:00 pm . All are welcome.

Your help is needed - message from the parish council

As you know, Father Vladimir is getting older and cannot drive by himself from New Germany to Halifax for church services anymore. We are looking for volunteer drivers who would drive him to the church and back home so that he could continue serving our parish. Fr. Vladimir already has arrangements to come to the city every last weekend of a month, and he is planning to take a Sunday or two off each month, meaning we need to arrange for his trips the remaining 1-2 times a month. Ideally, for each such weekend, one person should go to New Germany on Saturday, and another, on Sunday, so that we won't overburden our drivers. With 6-8 people in charge, each person would only have to make one long trip every two months or so.

For each weekend when Fr.Vladimir will be coming to Halifax, four separate rides will be required:

  1. From Fr. Vladimir's house in Pinehurst to the church for Saturday evening. It takes about 1.5 hours of driving one way. You should leave Halifax at 2:30pm, pick up Fr. Vladimir around 4pm, and arrive to the church before 6pm for Vespers. If he has something scheduled before Vespers, the trip will be shifted 1-2 hours earlier.
  2. From the church to the place where Fr. Vladimir stays at night (near Halifax Commons) after Vespers (7pm).
  3. From that place back to the church on Sunday morning: leaving Halifax Commons at 9:10am and arriving to the church by 9:30am.
  4. From the church back to his home in Pinehurst: leaving the church around 1:30pm and returning to Halifax by 3:30-4pm.

The parish will offer a $25 gas card for every long trip to Pinehurst.

Any help will be highly appreciated! Even if you can just give a ride in Halifax occasionally, it will help other drivers a lot!

Alina Kirsanova will be in charge of collecting information from possible drivers and making a schedule for the trips. Please contact her at driving (at) halifaxorthodox.org or by phone 902-830-7803 if you can give any rides to Fr. Vladimir, either on a regular basis or just occasionally, or if you are already planning to make a trip towards Bridgewater at any given weekend.

Civic Calendar with Service Schedule

Year 2018
November
 Mon  Tue  Wed  Thu  Fri  Sat  Sun 
   010203
Demetrius Soul Saturday
Vespers 6:00pm
04
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am

Annual Business Meeting 12:30am
050607080910
Vespers 6:00pm
11
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
121314151617
Vespers 6:00pm
18
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
192021222324
Vespers 6:00pm
25
Hours, Liturgy 10:00am
262728
Nativity Fast Begins
2930  

Sundays and major feasts are in red. Fast days are shaded.

November 1, 2018

Services this weekend are as follows:

Sat Nov 3: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Nov 4: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour followed by business meeting 10:00 am

Don't forget - clocks go back an hour Saturday night.

Annual Parish Business Meeting:

If you would like to be a member of St. Vladimir's Orthodox Church and have the right to vote at the Parish Annual General Meeting on Nov. 4, 2018 (after the service), please sign the membership form.

The membership forms will be available at church. Returning members should fill in the first page only. Others who are new, or members who have had a change of address or other information (and who want to let us know) can fill out page 2. The 3rd page is a guideline for those who are interested. Online forms or paper copies can be given to lmansour (at) hotmail.com or at church, as soon as possible.

The slate for the Parish Council is:
President: Denys Khaperskiiy
Vice President: Alina Kirsanova
Treasurer: Oksana Lunyov
Secretary: Leslee Mansour
Members at large: Pavlo Slavinskyi & David Decaire

Please refer any questions in regards to the business meeting, membership requirements, or parish council nominations to Fr. Vladimir or a member of parish council.

October 12, 2018

Protection of the Theotokos

Services are as usual this weekend:

Sat Oct 13: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Oct 14: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

October 6, 2018

Services are as usual this weekend:

Sat Oct 6: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Oct 7: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

September 21, 2018

Happy Feast Day! Today we celebrate the birth of the Theotokos.

Services are as usual this weekend:

Sat Sept 22: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Sept 23: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

Feast of the Exaltation of the Precious and Life-Giving Cross

Wed Sept 26: Vespers followed by the Great Doxology and the veneration of the Cross

Sat Sept 29: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Sept 30: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

September 6, 2018

Services are as usual this weekend:

Sat Sept 8: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Sept 9: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

August 22, 2018

Vitaliy Salnikov, the husband of Liudmila, a longtime member of our parish, fell asleep in the Lord yesterday morning. May his memory be eternal!

Funeral services will take place tomorrow at the Hermitage of the Holy Annunciation, 172 Goose Chase Rd, Watford. Viewing will be at 10:00am and the funeral will start at 10:30 am.

Directions to the Monastery - Take Highway 103 to exit 12 Bridgewater, turn right on Highway 10 towards New Germany for approximately 15 kms. Turn right on Goose Chase Road (by the Rona store). 172 will be on your right, if you reach Northfield Rd, you've gone too far. You'll go up a long dirt driveway to reach the buildings.

We send our sympathies and love to Liudmila and their son Anton at this time. Please remember them in your prayers.

Dormition of the Theotokos:

Sat Aug 25: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun Aug 26: Hours, Liturgy 10:00 am

July 17, 2018

This weekend we celebrate Transfiguration of Our Lord:

Sat Aug 18: Vespers and Liturgy 6:00 pm

No service on Sunday Aug 19.

July 28, 2018

This weekend we celebrate our patronal feast:

Sat July 28: Vespers 6:00 pm

Sun July 29: Hours, Liturgy and parish potluck picnic either on the church grounds or at nearby York Redoubt, depending on conditions. Please bring a food contribution if you can.

July 13, 2018

Here's the schedule for the rest of July, but please watch for the weekly updates as we're now into the unpredictable season of summer vacations, when plans can change:

Sunday, July 15: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

Sunday, July 22: Readers service (Hours and Typika), time to be confirmed

Celebration of the feast of St. Vladimir:

Sat July 28: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun July 29: Hours, Liturgy and outdoor potluck picnic (weather permitting), either on the church grounds or the nearby York Redoubt, further details to come. Please bring a food contribution if you can and join us in the celebration of our patronal feast!

July 6, 2018

Services for this weekend:

Sat July 7: no services

Sun July 8: Readers services (hours and Typika) and coffee hour 10:30 am

June 16, 2018

Sat Jun 16: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jun 17: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

June 2, 2018

This weekend we celebrate the feast of All Saints

Sat Jun 2: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jun 3: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

May 16, 2018

Ascension of Our Lord

Wed May 16: Vespers, Liturgy 6:00 pm

Sat May 19: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun May 20: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

Street closures this weekend due to the Bluenose Marathon: Be prepared to change your route to church this weekend. On Sunday morning, anyone coming in from Dartmouth will need to take the MacKay Bridge. Visit http://bluenosemarathon.com/street-closures/ for full details.

May 5, 2018

Christ is risen! Indeed He is risen!

The celebration of the Feast of Feast continues.

Sat May 5: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun May 6: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

April 27, 2018

Sat Apr 28: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Apr 29: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

April 20, 2018

Christ is risen! Indeed He is risen!

The celebration of the Feast of Feast continues.

Noble Joseph and the the Holy Myrrhbearers

Sat Apr 21: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Apr 22: Hours, Liturgy, coffee hour 10:00 am

March 27, 2018

Please note that there have been adjustments made to the Holy Week schedule of services:

Wed Mar 28: 6:00 pm Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts

Fri Mar 30: 6:00 Vespers for Lazarus Saturday - cancelled

Sat Mar 31 (Lazarus Saturday): 10:00 a.m. Liturgy of St John Chrysostom; 6:00 p.m. Vespers of Palm Sunday

Sun Apr 1 (Palm Sunday): 10:00 a.m. Liturgy of St John Chrysostom ; 7:00 p.m. Bridegroom Matins - Bridegroom Matins cancelled

Mon., Apr. 2: 7:00 p.m. Bridegroom Matins

Tue., Apr. 3: 7:00 p.m. Bridegroom Matins - cancelled

Wed., Apr. 4: 7:00 p.m. Service of Anointing

Thu., Apr. 5 (Last Supper): 10:00 a.m. Liturgy of St. Basil; 7:00 p.m. The Twelve Passion Gospels

Fri., Apr. 6 (Great and Holy Friday): 2:00 p.m. Vespers; 7:00 p.m. Epitaphos

Sat., Apr. 7 (Annunciation & Holy Saturday): 10:00 a.m. Liturgy of St. Basil + Blessing of food baskets; 11:00 p.m. PASCHA: RESURRECTION + Blessing of food baskets

Confession is required to receive the Eucharist at Pascha - please contact Fr Vladimir to schedule a time.

Confessions during Holy Week: Fr. Vladimir will be available Sat Mar 31 before Vespers (please make an appointment); Friday Apr 6 between 12:00-1:30 pm (please email Fr. Vladimir if you wish to come, and come as early as possible); Sat Apr 7 10:00-12:00 pm (please email Fr. Vladimir if you wish to come, and come as early as possible - this will be the final opportunity for confession before Pascha).

March 24, 2018

Sat Mar 24: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 25: Hours, Liturgy followed by a coffee hour 10:00 am

March 17, 2018

Sat Mar 17: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 18: Hours, Liturgy followed by a coffee hour 10:00 am

Wed Mar 21: Matins with the Canon of St. Andrew of Crete 6:00 pm

Fri Mar 23: Akathist Service 6:00 pm

March 10, 2018

This weekend we celebrate Veneration of the Cross:

Sat Mar 10: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Mar 11: Hours, Liturgy followed by a coffee hour 10:30 am

Reminder - clocks go forward one hour Saturday night. Please note change in start time for this Sunday only due to the time change.

Wed Mar 14: Liturgy of the Presanctified Gifts 6:00 pm

February 17, 2018

This weekend we celebrate the Feast of the Meeting of the Lord and we mark the beginning of Lent:

Sat Feb 17: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 18: Hours, Liturgy, Forgiveness Sunday Vespers followed by a coffee hour 10:00 am

First week of Lent:

Mon Feb. 19: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon
Tue Feb. 20: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon
Wed Feb.: 21 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon
Thur Feb. 22: 6:00 p.m. Great Compline & Great Canon

The full schedule for Lent can be viewed here.

Confessions: Confession during Lent is a key part of our preparations for Pascha. Father Vladimir is available for confessions before Vespers. Please contact him to set a time (please send your request before Sat noon as once he leaves home to travel to Halifax he won't have access to his emails).

February 10, 2018

Sat Feb 10: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 11: Hours, Liturgy followed by a coffee hour 10:00 am

Next weekend we will celebrate the Feast of the Meeting of the Lord and Forgiveness Sunday which marks the beginning of Lent:

Sat Feb 17: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Feb 18: Hours, Liturgy, Forgiveness Sunday Vespers, coffee hour 10:00 am

The full Lenten service schedule will come out soon.

January 8, 2018

The celebration of the feast of the Nativity continues.

Archbishop Irénée's flight got cancelled, so he is not coming this weekend and we will only have regular services.

Sat Jan 13: Vespers

Sun Jan 14: Hours, Liturgy followed by a coffee hour 10:00 am

We will celebrate the feast of Theophany the following weekend:

Sat Jan 20: Vespers 6:00 pm
Sun Jan 21: Hours, Liturgy followed by the Blessing of the Waters, coffee hour. Please bring a container if you wish to take some Holy Water home. Your container should be very clean, soak it in very hot, soapy water.

January 2, 2018

Feast of the Nativity of our Lord, God and Saviour Jesus Christ

Sat Jan 6: vigil 9:00 pm followed by potluck meal

No services Sunday Jan 7

Confessions: Confession is an integral part of our preparation for the feast of the Nativity and is required in order to receive the Eucharist at the feast. Please contact Father Vladimir as soon as possible to arrange a time. Confessions are normally heard Saturday before Vespers. Please note that confessions will not be possible the evening of Jan 6 before the vigil. For those coming from out of town, please discuss suitable arrangements with Fr. Vladimir. Fr. Vladimir can be reached by email and requests for confessions for the following Saturday should be sent before noon on Sat as after that point, he will not be able to check his emails while travelling to Halifax for the weekend.

Parking at the church for Nativity: Please remember that parking is limited, please be mindful in how you park to allow access and room for others. Should the parking lot be full, latecomers might have to park on Fergusons Cove Road across from the church, but note the winter parking ban is now in effect - for updates, please visit https://www.halifax.ca/transportation/winter-operations. With extra cars and people in the parking lot and possible slippery conditions, please use extra care entering the driveway. Thank you for your cooperation.

Archive

St.Vladimir Orthodox Church, 625 Purcell's Cove Road, Halifax NS

Home * Parish * Capital Campaign * News & Events * Services * Sermons * Photos * Location * Links * Contact * Our facebook page Facebook